My First Friendsgiving!!

Let me update you about what my weekend consisted of. My parents had a good idea of flying me home for the weekend to go to cookie day on my dad’s side of the family. I haven’t seen my family in a lonnnng time so I thought it was a great idea. Kyle was going on a guy bonding trip with my dad to the Notre Dame game so what better idea than to go home and have a girls weekend.

I flew home Friday night and got in at 11. My little puppy, although not such a puppy anymore (but will forever be to me Smile ), was sooo happy to see me. I wish I recorded her reaction once she saw me. She went nuts! I was happy to see her as well. Shortly after I got home I went to bed. We were up early to head down to my grandparent’s house to for the family tradition of Santa Cookie Day!

Santa Cookie Day is a tradition we’ve had going in the family for as long as I can remember. It started with all the girls but now some of the uncles and cousins have gotten in on the action as well. What can I say, all of us girls like to have a good time! We like to involve lots of wine and lots of sugar! Winking smile 

Each family makes a block of cookie dough and brings it with them. When we all get together we form an assembly line and start creating the Santa. A group of us mold the cookie dough in the Santa mold, some of us them put the raisins on for the eyes then red food coloring for the mouth, after that we put on the sprinkles for his rosy cheeks and hat. Last but not least we frost the rest of his hat then his eyebrows and beard. Some Santa cookies get coconut to top it off while others get crystal sprinkles. The final result is so cute and oh so tasty!

Santa Cookie

Sunday I also got to see my family on my mom’s side for brunch before I left for the airport. I haven’t seen any of them for a long time as well and I loved catching up with them. We always have so much to talk about and I’ve missed the little munchkins that chime in with darnest things! I look forward to being there for Christmas this year!

Now for the beginning of my week. Last week all my friends at work decided we should do a Friendsgiving before everyone leaves for Thanksgiving. Tomorrow we’ll be having a HUGE feast for lunch. So excited! My dish this year will be Cheesy Broccoli and Rice Casserole. I won’t be making it until tomorrow morning so it stays a little warm. I’ll keep you updated with that tomorrow. Don’t worry, I’ll take plenty of pics of the delicious food!

WORKOUT
Tonight I attended my FIRST EVER, that’s right, FIRST EVER workout class. A few months ago our gym started offering the new Nike Training Club class. I’ve been wanting to try it but have always been super intimidated by all the people that attend the class. They all looks so in shape and fit. Today I sucked it up and decided to get involved. THANK GOODNESS I DID! I loved it. It definitely kicked my butt but I felt soooo good afterwards. AND I didn’t feel like an odd ball. EVERYONE had some points where they were striving to find some extra strength and breaths. I wasn’t the only one and it made me feel just like everyone else. This 30 minute class has you constantly moving and it definitely went by super fast. If your gym offers the Nike Training Club class I definitely recommend it!

DINNER
After the gym I swung by home to pick up Kyle so we could stop by the grocery store to pick up a few things for my casserole. Plus we were needing some MAJOR necessities for our apartment. Kyle’s been working to the bone all day so it was nice that he asked to join me for a little bit to give him a break (although he was still in work mode…)

By the time we got home it was 8:00pm. When I came home for lunch I set out some chicken breasts to make for dinner. When we got home tonight they were perfectly thawed out and ready for baking. We were both super hungry so I wanted something fast and easy. I searched through the cupboards and fridge and found some Tomato Basil Garlic spaghetti sauce and some whole grain spaghetti noodles. PERFECT!! I preheated the oven to 400 degrees, sprayed a glass baking pan and put the chicken in. I topped it with the spaghetti sauce and through it in the oven for 25 minutes. When done I topped it with some shredded cheese and VOILA!!

GARLIC TOMATO BASIL CHICKEN PARMESAN

GarlicTomatoBasilChixParm

It was soooo delicious and soooo easy to make! Yum!

It was definitely a lazy dinner night, but there’s nothing wrong with that every once in awhile right? Especially since it was so good.

Leave a Reply

