Chicken Noodle Soup w/ a Water on the Side

After thinking it was a good idea to stay up until 2:30am catching up on Grey’s Anatomy, this afternoon wasn’t agreeing with the decision. In case you’ve missed out on last season, a lot has happened. I think I literally bawled for three episodes straight! Last night I definitely found out how emotional I am. My eyes were definitely feeling it this morning as well. It was not a good idea to put my contacts in! I was suffering ALL DAY because of it! Ouch! Confused smile

I did have a few things to look forward to today. Instead of having to take a lunch we were getting catered lunch in for Employee Appreciation Day. We got Pompei and Potbelly. It was delish! They had really good spinach ravioli from Pompei and italian sandwiches from Potbelly. I must have been too tired to even eat that much because I loaded my plate but couldn’t even eat it all. Talk about wasteful!

I’ve been really slacking on my water intake throughout the day and I can definitely tell. Thank goodness I came home and chugged two glasses of water. Felt much better afterwards. 

Walking home in the fall weather brought some yummy inspiration for dinner tonight. I was in the mood for some yummy, warm, chicken noodle soup. I ran to the store to grab a few things then came home and got to work.

DSCN1405

I started out by preheating the oven to 400 degrees and popping the chicken in there to bake. I’m a huge fan of baked chicken so I knew it would be delicious in my soup. As that was baking, I clean, chopped and peeled the vegetables to put in the pot. Since I’m making the soup so I can eat it the rest of the week while Kyle is out of town I put 32oz of Wild Harvest Organic low sodium chicken broth. 

DSCN1406

Once all the veggies were cut and in the pot I brought the pot to a boil or until the veggies were soft. Once soft, I turned it down to a low heat and put in the wheat noodles.

 DSCN1407

Once the chicken was done baking I took it out and let it cool for a few minutes. Then I peeled it and put it in the pot with the rest of the ingredients. I added a little bit of salt and pepper and some seasoning and voila! My homemade chicken soup!

Since this has been my first actual soup I’ve made in a LONG time, I forgot how quickly wheat noodles cook. So I definitely overcooked mine but it was still major tasty. I’ll just remember not to cook for that long next time!

 

What’s your favorite cold weather soup?

Leave a Reply

