Friendsgiving Recap

Moving a little slow after the long Thanksgiving break I had so bare with me. I’m slowly getting back to normal…although my sleep has yet to catch up, but that never does!

I promised you all I would give you a recap of how my first Friendsgiving went with my co-workers. Well, it was delicious! Everything was soooo good and I had a hard time saying no to anyone’s dish. Okay, who am I kidding, I tried a little of EVERYTHING on the table pretty much. I couldn’t contain myself. I mean that’s what the holidays are for right? I made a new recipe I found on SparkPeople.com. I went back and forth on what I wanted to make but finally came to a conclusion after realizing our feast was missing one of my favorite dishes, cheesy broccoli and rice casserole. To keep it a little healthier, Spark People has a recipe for a low fat version and I quickly scooped that up and went with it.

Monday night I headed out to the grocery store with Kyle to pick up my ingredients. I decided I was going to make it Tuesday morning before work so it would still be warm by noon.

I got up on Tuesday morning, went and got a quick cardio workout in. I headed to the gym around 5:45am and hopped on the elliptical to take on one of Julie’sΒ interval workouts. Man did I get a sweat going. My thighs were definitely feeling the workout as well. It was just the right amount of time I needed to get a good sweaty workout in before heading home to make my yummy dish.

Low Fat Cheesy Broccoli & Rice Casserole

(Picture soon to come)

Ingredient:
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped onions
1 can 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup
1 can 98% fat free cream of chicken soup
10 oz. low fat velveeta
2 10oz packages frozen broccoli, partially thawed
1 1/2 cups instance rice
1/2 tsp pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degree
Spray 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray and set aside
Spray medium skillet with cooking spray
Saute celery and onion over medium heat until onion is clear
Transfer onion and celery to large mixing bowl
Add soups and cheese
Stir until well blended
Add remaining ingredients and pour into prepared pan
Bake uncovered 35-40 minutes or until bubbly and golden brown

*make sure to stir halfway through so the rice cooks thoroughly*

Side note: I added a little extra soup, cheese, rice and broccoli since it was for a large group.

After throwing (not literally) the casserole into the oven to cook, I quickly got ready and headed to work.Β I was anxiously awaiting for lunchtime due to all the delicious smells in the room. When lunchtime came we all gathered in the conference room and went to town. I mean who wouldn’t want to devour all of this yumminess?

 

 

 

 

Thanks to all my wonderful co-workers for a great first Friendsgiving and for putting up with me for the past 8 months!

Love you all! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

