Rock N Roll Half Marathon = SUCCESS

Well folks I did it! I completed my first half marathon. Words cannot express the feeling you feel after you cross the finish line. It was such a HUGE accomplishment for me and I’m so glad that my friend, Jessica, talked me into doing it. I’m also really glad I got to experience this with two of my best friends.

(Getting ready to head to the starting line)

The start of the race I was super nervous. I could barely sleep the night before because my heart was pounding so hard that it felt like it was beating out of my chest. The idea of the day actually being here and the reality of actually running 13.1 miles was so overwhelming. I didn’t change one thing about my routine because so many people told me not to. Let me tell you, I’m glad I didn’t. The run was a little difficult as it was I couldn’t even imagine changing something to make it worse.

(Waiting at our corral)

The closer we got to the race site the more and more nervous I became. I mean, it’s 13.1 MILES for goodness sake! I’ve never ran that far in my life and never thought I actually would want to. When we arrived at the race site we made a bathroom stop (which didn’t help for me…if you know what I mean), checked our bag, and then headed to our corral. The atmosphere while waiting in the corral was nuts. There were so many people and they all had positive attitudes. It made me more excited rather than nervous, although I was still super nervous! As we got closer and closer to the starting line Jessica, Kati and I popped in our headphones and started our music and told each other good luck! Then we heard the gun shot and we were off.

We decided that we were going to try and stay together but if we ended up separating we would meet at the end. We stayed together throughout the first couple miles but after mile 3 I decided to slow down because I knew I would not be able to finish if I kept up at their pace. The first 5 miles were a breeze and then we hit a stretch of a straight path (which I hate because it’s so boring). Miles 6-9 were brutal. The sun was beating down on us and we were going straight for 3 miles. It felt like it was never ending. When mile 9 hit I thought it would get a little better but then my knee popped. From then on it was a challenge. I really, really, really didn’t want to walk at all but my knee was hurting so bad that I had to walk through the water station. After that I picked up my pace again but another mile came and gone and I was still in lots of pain. Right when I was going to walk again a girl running right next to me looked at me and said “We are not walking! We will go 15 minutes a mile before we walk!” which motivated me to not stop. I did end up going VERY slow but at least I didn’t stop.

Coming up on mile 11 I realized that I was almost done with my first half marathon and how much of an accomplishment it was. I just kept thinking that I never thought I would do this and was so happy I did. I was so proud of myself. Once I hit 12 miles I picked up my pace and basically limped my way through the finish line. I had so many feelings as I crossed that finish line. I was so proud of myself, but not happy with my time. I’m glad I got to do this with two of my best friends. I’m glad I pushed myself to be able to run 13 miles. The list goes on.

After the race I mentioned how I probably would never do another one again but after really thinking about it, I want to do another one. I want to beat my time and I want to have that wonderful feeling of accomplishment again. All my hardwork paid off for that one moment where I felt like I was invincible. Cheesy, I know but you do a half marathon and then tell me how you feel. Now there is no way I will ever do a full marathon. I could not imagine 13 miles only being my halfway point, but I would definitely do another half. I know Jessica and Kati have already talked about doing another one and now I’m fully onboard to do another one as well. This time I will train harder and push myself more!

One thought on “Rock N Roll Half Marathon = SUCCESS

Leave a Reply

